Plug-in opens with brush strokes from previous edit

Exposure X added layers and brushing options that give users greater control, but these can cause confusion when Exposure X is launched as a Photoshop plug-in. This does not affect versions of Exposure released prior to Exposure X because they did not support layering or brushing.

 

Issue

When opening an image in Exposure X from Photoshop, there may be brushing strokes and regions (or the whole image) that can’t be edited. These artifacts stay visible even if a new preset is applied.

This happens because because Exposure automatically applies the last used preset to the image when it's run from Photoshop. This includes all layers and brush strokes.

 

Solution

There are two ways to clear these brush strokes: press Reset to start from scratch, or find and delete the brushing layers.

 

Reset Image

Pressing Reset (or Control-R) will clear all presets and adjustments. You can then apply new presets and adjustments.

  

Delete Artifact Layer

If you want to keep the prior preset, you can find the layer that contains the brush strokes and delete it in the new photo. This video link shows an example.

Exposure X Artifact Example

Notice when working with the image of the hermit crab, clicking Reset clears all edits. A preset layer and then a brushing layer set to darken are created. When the edits are applied, the image goes back to Photoshop as a new layer.

When the seascape image is sent to Exposure X, the last adjustments are automatically applied. The brushed area is obviously out of place. To remove it, go to the Brush icon, open the Brushing menu, and find the pin that matches the brushing layer. Right-click and delete the pin and the brushing layer disappears. The original preset from the first image still shows, but the brushed area is gone.

Learn more about brushing and layers in this tutorial video.

 

Exposure X2 Update

Exposure X2 adds an option to control if previous settings are applied. This option is only available when Exposure is used as a plug-in for Photoshop.

Open Preferences and select the General tab.

Check Automatically apply previous settings if you want the last edit to be applied to future images. This is useful if you want the same look on most of the images you are using.

Uncheck Automatically apply previous settings if you want to start fresh with each image. This is useful if you want a different look for each image.

Automatically_Save.jpg

 

 


Have more questions? Submit a request.
Powered by Zendesk